All Party Parliamentary Group on Smoking and Health

Time for standardised packaging

On Thursday 3rd April, Sir Cyril Chantler’s review of the public health case for introducing standardised (”plain”) packaging for tobacco products was published.

Helping to prevent the next generation of children and young people from starting to smoke is a key objective of the APPG. Therefore, the Group warmly welcomes the Government’s decision to consult on draft regulations under the Children and Families Act and looks forward to them being published and brought before Parliament as soon as possible.  

Article 5.3 of the FCTC

On 11 December 2013, APPG Chair, Paul Bustow MP gave a speech to a meeting of the Department of Health and World Health Organization on the importance of Article 5.3 of the FCTC regarding the protection of public health policy from the vested interests of the tobacco industry.
Click here to view the speech (pdf).

A meeting of the APPG

About the APPG

ASH provides the secretariat for the All Party Parliamentary Group on Smoking and Health.

The All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Smoking and Health is a cross-party group of Peers and MPs which was founded in 1976 and is currently chaired by Paul Burstow MP.

The agreed purpose of the APPG is: “To monitor and discuss the health and social effects of smoking; to review potential changes in existing legislation to reduce levels of smoking; to assess the latest medical techniques to assist in smoking cessation; and to act as a resource for the group's members on all issues relating to smoking and public health.”

Documents produced by the APPG in the course of its work (including reports and letters) are available here.

The APPG on Smoking and Health is listed on the official register of All Party Parliamentary Groups. A full list of APPG on Smoking and Health members as at May 2012 is available to download as a pdf here.

Officers of the Group
Paul Burstow MP (Liberal Democrat) – elected October 2013. 
Bob Blackman MP (Conservative)
Ian Mearns MP (Labour)
Vice Chairs
Kevin Barron MP (Labour)
Baroness Finlay (Cross Bench)
Baroness O’Cathain OBE (Conservative)
Lord Rennard MBE (Liberal Democrat)
John Robertson MP (Labour)

The short URL to access this page is